Join or find out more
Become a member
Tel: {{healthcare_number}} Tel: 0800 414 8001

10am-4pm, Mon - Fri

Accessing services - Members
Tel: {{}} Tel: 0800 414 8100

10am to 4pm, Mon-Fri

Member helplines
(For existing members)
24/7 GP Helpline
Tel: {{}} Tel: 0800 414 8247
Mental Health Helpline
Tel: {{}} Tel: 0800 414 8247

Open 24 hours, 7 days a week

Business enquiries
Find out more

For Business

Request a call back

Business enquires 

Submit your details


Benenden celebrates the best in British health journalism

We’re delighted to announce the winners of the first Benenden sponsored British Health Journalism Awards.

With 13 categories covering the best in newspaper, magazine, online and broadcast journalism, the recently announced winners of the British Health Journalism Awards were a stellar crew.

Dr Chris Steele MBE, This Morning’s resident health expert since 1998, received the prestigious ‘Outstanding Contribution to Health Journalism’ award. Steele was celebrated for working to improve the UK’s health through his career to date, and because he continues to break new ground. He has put himself in the operating chair live on TV and is an international expert on smoking cessation.

Other categories and their winners include:

Newspaper Writer of the Year: Sarah Boseley, The Guardian

Columnist of the Year: Melanie Reid, The Times

Advice Columnist of the Year: Dr Rosemary Leonard, Daily Express

Magazine Writer of the Year: Anne Montague, Good Housekeeping

Health Magazine of the Year: Slimming World

Broadcast Journalist of the Year: Rowan Deacon, How to Die: Simon’s Choice

Health Programme of the Year: Panorama: Britain’s Mental Health Crisis

Health Book of the Year: Matt Haig, Reasons to Stay Alive

Online Writer of the Year: Tom Chivers, BuzzFeed

Blogger of the Year: Laura Agar Wilson

Social Media Campaign of the Year: @Timetochange

People’s Health Champion: Dr Michael Mosley

Members voted on the best magazine, TV programme and health hero, and awarding judges included health journalists and medical experts.